Reviews

What people are saying about The Rosedale Hotel




Summary
4.6

Very nice meal - Rating 4/5

Husband and I enjoyed our meal - we had the lamb shank. Found the menu a bit limited, but still nice. The service was fantastic - loved our server, he was so helpful and enthusiastic. Make a reservation.- Tripadvisor

Reviewer: Heather F | Mon 12th Dec 2022 | 1 year ago


Amazing food & service! - Rating 5/5

From beginning to end the whole experience was just lovely. The staff made us feel so very special and were attentive without being intrusive. The scallops and chowder for starters were so good we shared them! I had the venison pie and mash - oh my goodness it was delicious and my husband had the Hake risotto which was equally as good - so light and delicate. I certainly recommend if you are visiting Skye you book in here to eat! (TRIPADVISOR)

Reviewer: Jane F | Tue 15th Nov 2022 | 1 year ago


Friendly Hotel - Rating 5/5

We stayed 3 nights, room was clean and cosy. Plenty hot water and great shower. Good selection for breakfast. Breakfast was hot and we loved the homemade bread. All the staff were very attentive nothing to much trouble. Looking forward to returning-Tripadvisor

Reviewer: Vivmas549 | Sat 5th Nov 2022 | 1 year ago


Beautifully Located Hotel - Rating 5/5

A BIG thank you to the lady on reception here at the Rosedale. We had booked elsewhere and the owner had let us down, so we found ourselves after a 5 hour drive in a town that was 'fully booked'....everywhere! She pulled out all the stops and managed to get us in a room that had been vacated early.The room was tremendous, with a beautiful sea/harbour view. Location is superb, and with the addition of the view it makes this hotel special. The hotel is clean throughout and reasonably priced for what you get. We did note that the wallpaper is old fashioned 'woodchip' so maybe worth updating?Not sure on disabled access as there's a staircase up to the bar/dining area.Overall a pleasant stay.Thankyou

Reviewer: Vulcan R | Tue 25th Oct 2022 | 1 year ago


Great, local food - Rating 4/5

The food was excellent - very fresh and imaginatively prepared. Loved the field mushrooms, which were collected locally and tasted wonderful. The view out to the harbor was great as well.

Reviewer: MountainTravel | Wed 19th Oct 2022 | 1 year ago


Gorgeous food - Rating 5/5

I’d stayed in this hotel previously, but not had dinner there for some reason, and what a mistake that was! The food is beautiful and tasty, with an attentive and friendly staff. You’re not rushed to eat, which I very much appreciated. I’m sure if you manage to go earlier in the evening you’d have a lovely view of the harbour as well!

Reviewer: Reqbat | Tue 18th Oct 2022 | 1 year ago


Lovely Evening! - Rating 5/5

To contextualize: I just finished a two-week UK trip with both my parents (turning 70 this fall). We started with 4 nights in London, then 2 nights in Port Isaac, then one night in Edinburgh, then 2 nights in Portree, then 2 nights back in Edinburgh, and back to London for one night before heading back to the US.We had been warned about making dinner reservations in Portree ahead of time. Our visit was further complicated by the fact that we were in town on the Monday of Queen Elizabeth's funeral, which was a day that MANY businesses closed. Not only would the Rosedale take online reservations, but they did not cancel our reservation due to the national day of mourning.We arrived a bit early and had a drink in the bar before being seated for dinner. The three of us split two appetizers (pork belly and the seafood chowder) and then each had a main dish (hake risotto, aranchini, and I forget the third!) plus drinks. It was not a cheap evening by any means, but I had hoped that this would be one of our "nice" dinners while in the UK and I was NOT disappointed. The service was impeccable and we enjoyed every bite of our food in a lovely setting. I don't know when (if ever) we will be back in Portree, but if we are, I would absolutely return here for another meal. Highly recommend!

Reviewer: Meschmid | Sun 25th Sep 2022 | 1 year ago


Nice Hotel - Rating 4/5

We stayed at the Rosedale hotel for three nights, the room was lovely, the only downside it was on the side of the road so the windows were partially blocked so people couldn't see in, but we couldn't see out either, which made the room slightly dark. Breakfast the first morning, was lovely, the waiter Peter was absolutely brilliant he also served us at the evening meal and was excellent once again, a great asset to the hotel. However the breakfast on the last morning it was obviously Peter's day off. We booked for 7.30 when we arrived we were told that we would have to wait for the breakfast but we could have tea and coffee, however about 15 mins later the waiter came to take our order, we ordered muesli to be followed by the cooked breakfast, the milk for the muesli arrived then 10 mins later the muesli and the cooked breakfast both arrived together, we explained to the waitress that we were not ready for the cooked breakfast, she didn't really know what to do eventually she took the cooked breakfast away only the bring it back 10 mins later it had been put under a hot lamp the eggs were hard and the rest of the breakfast was dry. Apart from this we enjoyed our stay.

Reviewer: Liz | Mon 19th Sep 2022 | 1 year ago


Great service - Rating 4/5

The service from everyone that served us during our stay was great. The hotel has went to great lengths to make sure guests and stay are safe. The breakfast delivery was lovely and the meal on the Rosedale restaurant was delicious.

Reviewer: Laura T | Thu 24th Sep 2020 | 3 years ago


Honeymoon on Skye - Rating 5/5

A very lovely hotel. We spent two nights in a pretty and cozy room overlooking the harbour. Room was comfortable and shower hot (albeit occasionally scaldingly so). Staff members were very charming and helpful. One organised me surprise Prosecco for my new wife and a sorted us taxis to dinner on a night where the weather was grim. One evening we ate in the hotel restaurant. The food was very pleasant indeed and the dishes were quite imaginative (I could have eaten buckets of the smoked beetroot). All in all, lovely stay.

Reviewer: Lloyd, T | Thu 24th Sep 2020 | 3 years ago


Our Facilities


  • Bar
  • Close To City Centre
  • Cots Available
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Family Room Available
  • Free Wifi
  • Linen And Towels Provided
  • Pet Friendly Room
  • Restaurant
  • Sea View
  • Sea View Rooms
  • Well Behaved Dogs Welcome